तिरहुत डिवीजन tirahuta ḍivījan

‘(On the) River Bank(s)’  Division, Bihar

Skt:  tīra ‘shore’, ‘bank’;  and bhukta, ‘occupy’, ‘own’.

Tirhut Division is an administrative unit/geographical region of Bihar in India with Muzaffarpur as its HQ.

The Division is mage up of the following six districts: Muzaffarpur, West Champaran , East Champaran, Vaishali, Sitamarhi and Sheohar.

Tirhut is a region bounded by three rivers: the Gandak, Kosi River and Ganga.

For related place names see Indian Place names and Bihar place names.