शाहाबाद śāhābāda

‘King’s City’  

From Urd: shah, ‘king’; and ābād, ‘city’, ‘settlement’.

Shahabad or Arrah Distric is a former district of Bihar which was divided into Bhojpur, Rohtas, Kaimur and
Buxar Districts.

It is named after the first Mughal Emperor, Babur, who camped here in 1529 and proclaimed it as his sovereign territory.

There are 15 towns, villages or districts in India with this name, 13 of them in Bihar or Uttar Pradesh.

For related place names see Indian Place names and Bihar place names.

The former Shahabad District