Mar: उस्मानाबाद  usmānābāda

‘Osman’s City’  City/District,  Maharashtra

From Osman and  Urd: ābād, ‘city’, ‘settlement’.

The modern Osmanabad and Latur Districts were historically known as Dharashiv, the name of the seven ancient Buddhist and Jain caves which are about 8km from the modern city in the Balaghat Mountains.

Osmanabad District was conquered by the British in 1853, and then handed back to Hyderabad State seven years later. It was known as Naldurg District (after the city and fort with the same name) until 1904 when a  new district was formed with its capital at Osmanabad, named after Osman Ali Khan (1886-1967), the 7th Nizam and last ruler of Hyderabad princely state, who also has a university, a hospital and two reservoirs named after him.

For related place names see Indian Place names and Maharashtra place names.


Dharashiv Temple & Caves (Osmanabad)         Glasreifen