Tel: చిత్తూరు cittūru

‘Spiritual City’ City/District, Andhra Pradesh

From Tel: chit, ‘spiritual’; and uru/uuru, ‘town’, ‘city’.

There are 43 important temples in Chittoor District including the Venkateswara Temple at Tirupati and the Si Kalahasti temple.

Chittoor was originally a  part of the Madras Presidency and, after Independence, became part of the new Telugu-speaking state of Andhra Pradesh in 1953.

For related place names see Indian Place names and Andhra Pradesh place names.